Abundant life, Leadership

Busy Busy Busy

supermomSometimes it is hard to keep organized and focused when you lead a very busy lifestyle.  Most of us who are involved with social activities, organizations and family are very busy.  I think a person can be as busy as they want to be, for I know women who say they are busy but really don’t do anything.  Coming from a mother of four, a teacher, pastor’s wife/photographer/artist/ community leader, my time is eaten up by being busy along with dealing with people.  It just blows my mind when people say they don’t have any more time yet, they only have a small home, or one or no children who are grown and no job.  Their business is to clean house with four rooms and cook dinner for their husband when he comes home. Now when I say, “I’m busy” that means I not only have to fulfill my role as a mother, wife, my business or community involvement but also put in time for myself.  Everyone and anyone can say they have been busy, yet their being busy is sitting on the couch watching TV, balancing a check book or reading a book.  My definition of being busy is always moving; maybe that is why when I sit down for any amount of time I am drifting off to sleep.  Am I getting old?  No, just tired of being busy.plan to be busy

Being busy means to be occupied, full of activity, active or unavailable to use because of lack of freedom.  Most of the time a person chooses whether how busy they want to be or their own definition of busy. 

Being busy does not always mean profitable.  People use the excuse of being busy because it seems right to use the word busy instead of making the hearer think being lazy or slothful or just don’t want to do what is required or asked of.  Anyone can fill their day up with activities to consume time however if it hasn’t been profitable or effective then it is wasted time.  This doesn’t mean you should spend all of your time doing one thing and calling it profitable because there must be balance.  Balance is fulfilling all your duties or role in every area of your life.  It is time management.  Time management can help keep a very peaceful lifestyle in a household plus be less stress upon our own mind.  Everything we do should always mean going forward, improving our lifestyle for righteous living and making a difference in other people’s lives. 

When we work, we should be the best employees there is on the job.  We should set the example of productivity and honor.  When we are at home we should also be effective, wise and model the standards of husband, father, wife and mother, as Christ would have us to be.  When in public and involved in activities outside the home, we should be the shining representation of Jesus Christ. 

The next time you think you are busy, then define and characterize your busyness.  Is it-wasted time or is it productive in regards to eternity?

Prayer:  Lord help me to stay focused on your Kingdom during my busy lifestyle.  Let me know the difference between ineffective times wasting verses profitable time.  Let me be an example of you in all that I do.  In Jesus name. Amen.

2Thessalonians 3:11-13 For we hear that some among you are leading an undisciplined life, doing no work at all, but acting like we are busy.Such people we command and urge in the Lord Jesus Christ to settle down and earn the bread they eat.And as for you, brothers, never tire of doing what is right.

Colossians 3:23  Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men,since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

3 thoughts on “Busy Busy Busy”

  1. Melissa,
    I completely understand where you are coming from! There was a time I had absolutely no time left in the day…busy was an understatement. But I felt God leading me to make some changes…My statement was I was going to step off and watch the world go around for while….I was tired of trying to keep up. I know it was the right decision…I am now a better mom, wife and part-time employee! But most of all I have the time daily to spend with the Lord! Have a good day
    Melinda

  2. “I am so guilty of “being busy” but look around and can’t tell I’ve done anything yet left tired. Needed this post today. Thanks!”

Leave a Reply

