Abundant life, Fear, Love and Life of a Testimony

Float and Drift

floating on a raftDuring my teenage years, there was nothing as relaxing as laying on a blown up raft soaking up the sun.  I remember we couldn’t wait till it got warm enough to go swimming in the neighbor’s pool, Lake Venus, my best friends pond or Kentucky Lake.  It wasn’t so much as the swimming I enjoyed, it was just relaxing and floating.  Usually I would drift off to for a quick nap or giggle with a friend, gossiping or just girl talk.  I don’t think guys ever enjoyed just laying on a raft and soaking. 

I remember one particular time at the Lake, the waves making a rocking motion as if it was a cradle rocking me to sleep.  When I opened my eyes, it was startling that I was so far from the bank.  The current had carried me out quite a ways from our camp without me even knowing it.  The time had seemed so quickly passed.  I always had a fear of going too far, because Dad would tell the danger of the current pulling you out.  I didn’t realize how easy it was to drift until I opened my eyes.

We tend to drift in many areas of our life.  From drifting in marriage, to keeping in touch with family members and drifting spiritually.  It is just like on a float relaxing one minute and the next minute you’re in the danger zone.Drifting takes no effort and it is an unconscious process.  We can never drift upstream or against the tide, which in turn, the further we drift the less and less we care.relaxing on a float

realizing we have drifted awayIt is subtle yet shocking when we suddenly realize how far we have drifted from God.  The point of departure begins when Satan steals our affection for loving Jesus by putting a deceitful twist on our experiences or expectations, which causes us to suspect God instead of trust God.  It is as if we are asleep with pleasure instead of being watchful.  It’s not only dangerous to us but to those who are around us, watching or waiting for us to return.  

There are many attitudes that can set us adrift.  Believing that we need more than God to be happy; placing relationships above loyalty to God; thinking God should live up to our expectations; resisting His corrections or turning a deaf ear to His Word.  Drifting starts by neglecting prayer and reading the Bible.  The desire to not want to be around other Christians or attendance in fellowship comes next.  It is soaking up the world without realizing the fact we are placing ourselves in risk.

If you are beginning to drift away and are being caught in the current of life pulling you into the danger zone, it is time to wake up and open your eyes. It is time to be thankful for the rescue. It is time to paddle back to the One who is the sole source of satisfaction.

prayer restores relationshipPrayer:  Lord, help me not to drift into the attitudes of being lazy and protect me from the enemies current to cause me to drift from you and your word.  Help me to help others find their way back to protection and true happiness.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Ephesians 4:14 Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. NIV

Leave a Reply

