Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

It Is Not Random

learn to give freely and you will receive back moreThis story is about a ring and twenty dollars.  It is about purpose and a plan in which we may think is random.  

I had a message from someone this week in which I thought was worth sharing.  Last Sunday morning I taught on being a generous giver and living generously. When you live out being a giver without anything expected back, you get back so much more of a reward and this is what I received.

 Upon teaching, I pulled out a twenty-dollar bill and randomly walked back to a couple and handed it to them.  I instructed the entire congregation to give something from their wallet or an item to give away to someone else.  Some people handed their phone, shoe and entire wallet in which some they received back after I finished my teaching.  The point however I was trying to make was, don’t think about what you give away and your loss but to be able to freely give is living in generosity.  If you can freely give it away without thinking about it, don’t expect it back.  We should be able to give even when we don’t want to.  When you give something away it should have meaning to you, not something you would be willing to toss in the goodwill. After church, I gave one of my favorite rings to a young lady.  It wasn’t that I didn’t like the ring, but I was practicing generous living.  The ‘things’ in which we hold to so dear should not be in a way that keeps up bound by giving or living.

Now here are the two stories.  Nothing by God is ever done in random.  God has a plan and purpose in which He uses everyone in different ways.  The young lady I gave the ring too, looked surprised and seemed excited to be receiving a gift.  She then told me that she had given one of her bracelets away to another lady a few days prior because she felt like God wanted her to. God has a way to give us something back when we give generously.  The couple I had given the twenty dollars sent me a message this week.  On Saturday, they had wanted to go to Subway to eat.  Upon realizing they didn’t have the extra money they stayed home and she cooked dinner instead.  When they came to church Sunday morning and received the twenty dollars in which they tried to give back to me once the service was over, I randomly made a statement.  This is what I said, “Take the twenty, go to Subway and buy your wife lunch.”  The look on his face was of thankfulness and confused all at the same time maybe a little surprised.  Why would I randomly choose them to give twenty dollars to and why randomly would I tell him to go to Subway?  With God nothing is done in random.  It was all in His plan.  He teaches us in awkward ways to help us realize He is in control and He loves to make a statement!  nothing is random with God

Do you have a story to tell?  When is the last time you practiced generous living?  I promise, once you start giving generously, nothing is random; it is all in God’s plan.  Look out of the window with a world of opportunity to change a life, make a difference and show the love of God.

Prayer:  Lord, I thank you for teaching me this week and increasing my faith in just the little things you do.  You are so wonderful!  I pray for all those who read this, that this week you will honor their giving and bless them with what we may call random.  Help us to walk in the plan you have for us.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

1 thought on “It Is Not Random”

Leave a Reply

