Abundant life, Soul Winning

She is 103 Years Old

God can use you know matter what your ageThis past week a lady in our town celebrated her birthday.  I remember meeting her last year when I was working on my photography book Age Defined.  She was celebrating her 102 birthday and I wanted to photograph her.  She was really sweet and she didn’t mind talking.  She stated the only thing about living a long time is your friends and family members pass on however she credits her positive attitude toward the Lord.  She says the secret to long life is her relationship with Jesus.  She says everyday she wakes up smiling and asks God what he wants her to do that day.  Although her body doesn’t get around as good as she wants, her mind is still keen and she continues to use it to be encouraging to others.  People, who meet her, leave feeling blessed.  I am glad I have met her and I am sure she could tell us some stories.  

When God promised Abraham and his wife Sarah that they would have a son, Abraham laughed in unbelief and replied, “I am 100 years old and my wife is 99.”  Sarah too laughed but nevertheless, Sarah conceived and the promise was fulfilled.  There is nothing impossible with God even if you laugh and think it is.  His ways are not always ours and His truths go beyond our imitational thinking.

We too grow old and wonder if the Lord can fulfill his promises to us.  We no longer have prominence or status and we may seem somewhat alone.  The mind may not be as sharp and the physical limitations may keep one close to home.  Every day there seems to be more of something lost that has spent a lifetime of acquiring.  God has a plan for each one of us and the truth is, we are never too old to be used by Him.  devoted to God expecting His promises

Don’t ever think you are too old to be used by God.  We must be willing and available and just as Mrs. Garst who turned 103 a few weeks ago, we should wake up smiling and just ask God His plan for the day.  He will give you directions and put people in your life that will benefit just knowing you.  You are never too old to help God fulfill His promise He has for other people.  You can make a difference!  Live for Him and He will use you no matter what your age.

Prayer:  Lord I pray that you will continue to use me for your glory each day.  Let me never have the mindset that I will become to old to be used.  I know nothing is impossible with you!  I love you and want to be a blessing and be used for purpose in your kingdom.  In Jesus name. Amen.

Genesis 17:4,6  As for me, this is my covenant with you: You will be the father of many nations.  I will establish my covenant as an everlasting covenant between me and you and your descendants after you for the generations to come, to be your God and the God of your descendants after you.

Luke 2:37  She was very old; she had lived with her husband seven years after her marriage and then was a widow until she was eighty-four. She never left the temple, but worshiped night and day, fasting and praying.

Leave a Reply

