Abundant life, Encouragement

How Sweet It Is

I love sweets! I love sugar and I am not afraid to admit that sweets are an addiction to me.  I am a bubble gum gal and a dessert after a meal person.  I am slowly breaking the habit since with sugar also comes those few extra pounds.  Just one bite is all I look for however just one bite sometimes leads to eating an entire piece of pie.  Don’t give me those sugar substitute, they are just not the same because I like the real deal.  My favorites are my mamma’s coconut cream pie, my daddy’s home made peach ice-cream, chocolate covered cherries and strawberries, éclair pudding, Cheryl’s hummingbird cake all with a nice cup of coffee.   Every once in a while there is something great about Krispy Kream donuts fresh out of the oven too, although I don’t think they have any nutritional value. There is nothing more satisfying in enlightening your taste buds to something sweet and allowing it to melt in your mouth. Of course it would be nice doing so while lying back on a beach, feeling the breeze and watching and listening to the ocean waves.  Now that is sweet! my favorite place

“Sweeter and sweeter as the days go by, O what a love between my Lord and I, I keep falling in love with Him over and over again!”  I remember this verse in a song in which we used to sing years ago.  I have found this to be so true.  Sweet can have a multiple of meanings when you look it up in the dictionary.  Sugary, lovable, kind, pleasant, excellent, respected, giving please as of delightful, dear, fresh, melodious or satisfying and a form of loving someone.  Many times people will refer to people as “sweet”.  I think sometimes we take it for granted when sweet is used in shape of a compliment. 

The Word of God is sweet, makes you want more and moreThe Bible speaks about wisdom and obedience to His word being sweet. The Word, which is the written form of God’s grace, revealed is a benefit to those more than day or night, the air we breathe, the food on the table or the light of the sun.  To live in this world as a saved individual we must have a need for the Word of God.  His love and the love portrayed in the Scriptures are pure, holy, just and good and it is in those words we discover our need of a Savior.   This Word endures forever, His mercy endures forever, and the sweetness of God never ends. 

The next time you pick up a sweet and plop in into your mouth.  Reflect on the sweetness of Jesus Christ and His word that gives us encouragement daily.  Thank Him for the sweetness He imparts in us to give to others.  The next time someone describes you as “sweet”, then remember it is Jesus Christ being manifested in your life to shine for Him!

Prayer:  Lord, I thank you for your Word, I thank you for your sweet and loving kindness.  May you fill all my days with sweetness.  In Jesus name. Amen.

Psalms 19:9-10 The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever. The ordinances of the LORD are sure and altogether righteous. They are more precious than gold, than much pure gold; they are sweeter than honey, than honey from the comb. (NIV)

Proverbs 24:14 Know also that wisdom is sweet to your soul; if you find it, there is a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off. (NIV)

Proverbs 3:21- 24  My son, preserve sound judgment and discernment, do not let them out of your sight; they will be life for you, an ornament to grace your neck. Then you will go on your way in safety, and your foot will not stumble; when you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. (NIV)

1 thought on “How Sweet It Is”

Leave a Reply

