Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership

Overwhelming Tasks

overwhelming tasks

 Do you ever find yourself looking at a task and wonder how in the world can I get this accomplished?  I have several of those staring me in the face as we speak.  Sometimes I don’t worry about it because all that stuff in the closet is not going anywhere.  I have watched my son wait till the last moment to do a big project because it seems so big and time consuming.  The old saying is, “How can you eat an elephant? Start with one piece at a time.”   I have come to the conclusion; the task is only overwhelming when we allow it to be in our mind.  Our mind can be a very powerful tool for the positive or for the negative.  If we focus only on the negative side, the project or task at hand will continue to be put off yet if we think positively we can see it as accomplished and organized.  This type of mindset takes time and practice.  My closet upstairs with all that clutter is my treasure box.  It is where I keep my pictures, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings of the boys, artist work, costumes, gift bags and gifts, candles, books, crafts, baskets, files, and such.  Yes, it does need organization and I know it will take a couple of days to arrange it.  So, what is the problem?  Time.  Scheduling time.  My calendar is already booked daily for the next two months with photography, so this overwhelming task must be eaten with small bites.  My schedule changes today!  Just by writing it down, I already feel better and see myself accomplishing it.

Just as my walk with Jesus Christ may sometimes seem overwhelming in my position I have with people.  I am a leader and a Christian one at that.  I have the gift of Administration and Rulership, so in other words, I like to delegate or tell people what to do.  What is so overwhelming is I must choose my words wisely.  I am still working on my showing mercy gift although I do have patience.   It’s funny because my personality is Sanguine, so I like to have fun and am not so disciplined.  Jeff said it this morning as we were drinking our cup of coffee.  Being a Christian is not hard.  You must have the mindset to follow Christ with words and actions.  To live for Jesus easy is hard, but to live for Jesus hard is easy.   Anything can be overwhelming if we let it, however when we look at the project in future tense already accomplished, whatever the goal is, it makes it easy to finish it.  Our life here on earth may seem overwhelming at times, but when we look down in the future and see that it will all be worth it walking on the streets of gold with our Savior then we will continue to accomplish what we need to do.  I have seen many people start a project and bail out later.  Sometimes people are builders and sometimes bankers.  The builders usually start a project and go on to other things because being a banker means you must take care of it and be responsible for the outcome.  Some people won’t discipline themselves to be good stewards or managers. My husband’s focus is being both a builder and banker.  He is very disciplined when it comes to tasks and bringing unity and team effort.look up, look foward

The next time you feel overwhelmed when embarking upon a situation or task, look up.  Project your mind into the future and see it already accomplished.  Being a Christian and a disciplined one at that, takes practice and a change of mind.  Think positive; be proactive and not reactive in any situation.  Use wise words and be wise in actions.  May Christ give us faith, and increase our faith, that we may not only be safe, but joyful and triumphant.

Prayer:  Lord, forgive me for not doing those things in which you have called me to do because I may have thought they were overwhelming or if I had fear.  Help me to change my mindset, renew my mind daily.  I want to live for you hard, so I ask for the fruit and the gifts of Your Spirit.  Teach me; let me lean upon you for rest, lead me into the direction in which I can be most productive and disciplined.  I want to be obedient to your voice.  In Jesus Name, Amen. 

Galatians 6:9  Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. (NIV)

I Corinthians 15:59  Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.  (NIV)

Leave a Reply

