Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Parenthood

Formula and Changing Diapers

being a new mommy is hard workAs a new mommy with your first born, not only you a little nervous about bringing another human being into this world but also you don’t really have a clue of how stressful and tiring motherhood can be.  When I had my first son Lyle, I was twenty one years old and thought I did know a little something about parenting since I read all parenting books I could get my hands on and had babysat as a teen.  My mother came and stayed with me the first night home but I sent her home upon waking and seeing her put the diaper on Lyle upside down.  She was more tired than I was and she was not use to waking up in the middle of the night.  Nevertheless, as a new mommy we all adjust and trudge through those long nights.  When I went back to work forty hours a week, and when he didn’t sleep throughout the night, several strategies were a must.  I would put him in his car seat, take him for a ride or sometimes just put him on top of the dryer and turn it on.  The swing was a lifesaver except every ten minutes to get up and crank the handle.  There was no battery operated ones during that time.  It’s funny now to think how Lyle and I slept on the floor in front of the TV watching PTL with Tammy and Jim Baker and even then I wasn’t a Christian. Lyle wouldn’t sleep at night and the only television station I could get at two in the morning for him to watch while lying in the car seat was a Christian program.  I was fascinated on how they wanted people to give money to help build facilities for children and families.  In which is exactly what Lyle is doing now is quite ironic, having a heart for orphanages. watch out changing diapers

When I go to a baby shower, I usually can give several advice tips.  “Motherhood is the hardest work a woman will ever do in her life.  It is her ministry.”  Another tip I give is “Never get too close to the baby when changing the diaper.”  It took me several times to learn this.  Raising boys, you will get peed on several times.  One particular instance I even had to go to the doctor for an eye infection.  Can you guess how I got an eye infection?  Changing the diaper too close and it wasn’t pee that went into my eye!  The doctor laughed as well as the nurse.

God can feed our souls more than just milkAnother mistake I made was with those consecrated formulas.  You take the can of formula and mix it with the same amount of water before feeding the baby.  Can you guess what happened?  I forgot to mix it with water and fed Lyle the entire bottle.  I started fretting and thought I must be a horrible mommy over feed my newborn.  I called his pediatrician to find out that a lot of moms have done the same thing.  He told me to skip the next feeding, give him extra water and that it was like I had given him a full bowl of oatmeal.  Pour Lyle and all those newborn babies to first time mommies!  We learn so much with our firsts in life.

As we walk in this life, God has many experiences we go through in which sometimes we do create mistakes in which we learn from, hopefully.  Life is not always a breeze or perfect.  There is drama, there are sufferings, there are heartaches and there are mistakes.  Yet in the mix of it all there are treasures, there are memories in which make us laugh, there are joys and there are most beautiful moments.  God wants us to enjoy our lives.  He wants to bless us as we live in a world of uncertainty.  He wants us to trust in Him daily.  He instills faith in each one of us and expects us to grow in that faith on a daily basis.  I didn’t know God on a personal relationship when I first became a mother.  I was a very strong and proud person and thought I had to do this all by myself.  I trust in you GodLife has a way to bring people to their knees and in need of a Savior.  I am thankful I knew who to run to and rely on when my other children were born.  Just like the over feeding of the formula, God wants to feed us on a daily basis and satisfy our inner cravings of hunger.  He alone can fill our souls beyond our capabilities.  As far as motherhood and the many mistakes I continue to make, I learn and I go forward with experience to in some way pass down to others.

Prayer:  Heavenly Father I thank you for keeping your hand upon my family in all the days of our lives.  Thank you for helping me realize it is You whom I must put my trust and faith in.  I lean on you to grow and to be more like You in portraying Your love in reaching out to others.  It is You that gives me the strength to move forward and that ultimately satisfies my inner being.  Thank You Jesus.  Amen.

Psalms 53:2 God looks down from heaven on the sons of men to see if there are any who understand, any who seek God.

Matthew 7:8   For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

Psalms 90:14 Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.

1 thought on “Formula and Changing Diapers”

Leave a Reply

