Abundant life, Salvation

Thank God For Freedom

USA FlagI always seem to have tears come to my eyes at the singing of the National Anthem.  I see the flag waving and think of the heroic men and women who gave their lives so we may have our freedom today.  It sometimes can be a very emotional experience for me if I let myself think about it.  You may think it is silly to see me at a ballgame and everyone is standing there giving honor to the flag and I standing there being emotional and teary eyed for those few minutes. 

 We celebrate freedom today with food, parties, fireworks and friends.  Let us remember those who paid the price with their own blood so that we may enjoy ourselves today.celebrate with fireworks - freedom!

Jesus Christ also paid a price.  He purchased us with His own blood.  We are not our own but belong to Him.  He gives us true freedom and freedom of choice.  He came to set our soul free from bondage and ties to this world.   The freedom of worship, the freedom of choice, the freedom to live in abundance is more freedom than we realize sometimes and often take for granted.  Until a person experiences visiting another country, the freedom in the United States may be taken for granted.  Many times in our travels it feels wonderful to step back into the good ole US.   I treasure the freedom of this country but I also treasure the freedom Jesus Christ gives me.

I am FREE in Jesus ChristTake time today to reflect not only the freedom you have in this country but also reflect upon the goodness of God has He gave His son for you.  When you see the celebrations, the fireworks and the flag, don’t just remember what people sacrificed for our country but also remember the ultimate sacrifice God paid for your soul.

Prayer:  Lord help me to remember today as I celebrate our country’s freedom to reflect the freedom you give us in Christ.  In Jesus name…Amen.

I Corinthians 8:20  …you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body. (NIV)

Romans 8:2 because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. (NIV)

John 8:36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. (NIV)

Leave a Reply

