Abundant life, Leadership, Parenthood

No More Children

children playing todayYesterday, I missed writing my blog.  Why?  It was my baby’s birthday and he is officially an adult at eighteen.  I have no more children.  It seems like it wasn’t too long ago when I was lying in a hospital bed thinking to myself, “I am a mother of four boys all under the age of seven, wow.”  Time truly flies and although I am thankful for the memories in which I treasure, I am looking forward to the future.  As he leaves this morning for work in his summer part time job, he calls out, “love you mom”.  I have no more children.  I keep repeating it to myself as if it were a dream.  I am starting to feel the effects of the empty nest syndrome.  The other boys have moved out, so there is just Spencer and with one more year in High School, so I have one more year with enjoying the bliss of motherhood.  Jeff and I sometimes pinch ourselves because it is so quiet in the house and we look at one another in a what should we do attitude.

boys like playing in mudSeveral things I had to learn with upbringing boys.  They play rough, they don’t squeal or whine and they are not moody.  They fought as all siblings but when it came down to protecting each other, you never wanted to cross their paths.  I wanted a girl and prayed for a girl but I trusted in God to give me what was best for our family.  They liked the bugs, mud, the trampoline and many riding toys.  All my boys are very loving and adore children, at least that is what I tried to instill into their core.  However, today I have no more children.boys playing

There comes a time in all of us when we put away childish things and the time is to grow up.  I have seen some people in their twenties, thirties and forties and they still partake in childish things.  They have never understood the term, “grow up”.  Now, I am not talking about playing with toys, cars, games and participating with children but things that people do which should know better.  It is refusing to change for the good.  It is procrastination. It is doing what is productive physically and spiritually.  The speech, thoughts and feelings of the child should change as one gets older. Just like the natural, our spiritual relationship should also change.  We should not continue to play games or partake in such dramas of  life but form and frame our mind to the mature and spiritual things of life.   I have no more children.

When a child thinks about today, they are living in the now.  It is living in the reality of what you know, for today and not for the future.  When people understand as a child they do not truly comprehend their actions nor recognize the consequences. Everyday people try to steal, cheat or swindle their way into prosperity or gain.  A child doesn’t understand that he must prepare for his future. People who look for shortcuts, they don’t  understand the effects in the long run. Manhood and Christ likeness are synonymous. When we pattern our life after the best example of the man Jesus Christ, it is then we put away childish things.  

I have no more children but young men in which I am very proud of.lylebrysonJordanspencer

Prayer:  Heavenly Father, help us to understand Your ways and have the mind of Christ within us.  Let us be the example in which we too put away childish things in attitude, heart, mind and will.  Help us to put those things behind us as we grow spiritually mature.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

I Corinthians 13:11  When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. (NIV)

2 thoughts on “No More Children”

  1. Melissa, I really enjoyed reading your note but with mixed emotions! I realize my children are growing up and am aware they will encounter many things. Thanks for sharing! We love you and Jeff!

Leave a Reply

