Abundant life, Made you smile

Remote Control Blues

 remote control of your life?It was 12:30 am and I was exhausted.  Upon arriving in bed and snuggling under the covers, I reached for the remote control to turn the TV off.  It was dark and I didn’t have my glasses on and I tried to figure out which button to push.  I always push the wrong button and when I do, a loud shhhhhh echoes throughout the house because I usually hit the wrong button. Yes, I do it all the time and last night was no different.   Upon hearing the loud noise, my groggy half asleep husband rolls over and says “Give me the remote, you don’t know what you are doing.”  Without even opening an eye, he hits all the right buttons and turns the TV off.  As the quietness settles throughout the room, he then asks me, “Why are you touching my remote, you have no business touching it, you don’t know how to use it, ask me to switch it off next time.”  Of course he is joking or is he?  We both laughed because I know he is telling the truth.  What is it with men and the remote control?  When we are in the living room, he has the control.  When we go on vacation and staying in a hotel room, he has the control. When he is recliner, once the remote is in his hand, it’s like a race to see how many stations he can change within the hour or it becomes the sedative to take a nap.  Oh and don’t try to sneak and take the control while he is dozing or even try and change the station, “I was watching that”, would be replied.  help-me-to-understandAll of us women need help understanding the complexity of man and his need for the remote.  If you are a man, could you please help me understand this need and leave me a comment below for us fellow women?

I am so thankful Jesus is the ultimate Supreme God in a believer’s life.  He doesn’t use us like a remote control, pushing buttons to make us do things or act right.  He gives us a choice.  He allows us to have freedom to push our own buttons of life.  When we get messed up, he can turn us around and get us back on the right station.  He fine tunes us, keeps us going and always has His hand upon us. We lay in His hands and He never naps! 

Satan, on the other hand always tries to get control over our life.  He pushes buttons to confuse, complicate and make matters worse.  By trying to control our life without the help of God, we only make things worse.  When it comes to the remote control in our life, we either let God have control or we let the enemy control us. 

So, when it comes to the remote in the house, I will let the man take care of it for makes him happy.  However, when it comes to life, my remote goes to the Almighty.  It is when we turn the control (our life) completely over to Him that things will become peaceful and we can finally get some rest.

Philippians 3:16-21

Only let us live up to what we have already attained. Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you. For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, Who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.  

Leave a Reply

