Abundant life, Encouragement, Love and Life of a Testimony

My Daddy’s Hands

 my daddy's handsYesterday I went and visited my father, Joe.  He saw me with my camera and ordered me not to take a picture of him.  I told him, “Daddy, I want to take a picture of your hands”.  His hands have been through many years of hard labor in the mason business.  Handling stone, brick and mortar along with the sun exposure has made his hands look as though they have taken a beating.  Rough, dry and many wrinkles on the outside but tender hearted and caring on the inside.  It is the same hands that carried me from the car into the house when I would pretend to be asleep just so he would carry me to bed at age six.  I never had the fear, no not once that he would drop me or leave me in the car.  It’s the same hands years ago that tried to comb the tangles out of my long hair at age ten, never did I think twice about asking him for help in my daily tasks.  It’s the same hands that baited my hook with the gross worm and the same hands, which took off the slimy fish.  I didn’t have to ask, he already knew my thoughts when he saw the emotions expressed on my face.  It’s the same hands that toiled in the garden to produce food on our table and others in the winter. I didn’t have to worry where my next meal or any necessity would come from or how, he always made a way in perfect timing.  My daddy’s hands in the natural have years of sacrifice, discipline and work, yet they are caring, tender and soft.

God’s powerful hand is yet similar to my natural father.  My Spiritual Daddy’s hand is the example for all fathers to be.  His mercy and faithfulness reaches through all circumstances.  His arms carry us to a place of rest, protection and comfort.  He feeds and provides never to see His child forsaken or begging for bread.  He is the provider, One who goes beyond all natural capabilities, paying the price with His very life so we made find life.  He has a mighty arm, strong is His hand, victory lies within.  His hand is brought forth to save, holding on to His children as precious jewels of treasure in which no one can pluck out.  His mighty hand will praise his children as they grow to be more like Him. 

I Chronicles 29:12,13   Both riches and honor come from you, and you rule over all. In your hand are power and might, and in your hand it is to make great and to give strength to all.  And now we thank you, our God, and praise your glorious name.

The unsearchable riches of my Daddy’s hands exceed the splendor of this life.  The advantage as Children of God is knowing we have the best Daddy ever.  He’s got the whole world in His hands, my Daddy’s hands. 

2 thoughts on “My Daddy’s Hands”

Leave a Reply

