Abundant life, Love and Life of a Testimony

Having Hope

  Romans 15:4  For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.

I love history and I love to sit down with older folks and listen to the stories they tell.  Last year I made an attempt to find out a few stories about my great grandparents and grandparents.  My Dad commented on the fact, no one wants to know our family stories.  I beg to differ with him since I thought to pass these everyday details down to my children.  It is a part of our heritage.  History also seems to repeat itself.  The same struggles we all deal with are the same things our parents dealt with, the same things our children will deal with and probably the same things people in the Bible dealt with.  It is life.  However, if we take a closer look throughout the Scriptures, they hold very key factors of answers in which we may be searching for.  Why is it, we turn to the Bible at the last result?

The Scriptures are written for our use and benefit, as much as for those to whom they were first given. That comfort which springs from the word of God, is the surest and sweetest, and the greatest stay to hope. The Spirit as a Comforter, is the earnest of our inheritance.  So when you find yourself feeling depressed, down or in need of comfort, look toward the only hope we have, Jesus Christ and his Words.  

Hopefully my children and grandchildren will appreciate the stories from the past whether if they hold any answers, value or just simply history.  The one thing I know for sure is I can give them the best words ever, I can give them hope for their future by passing down Scriptures.   Now that is leaving a legacy.

Leave a Reply

