Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

Compare Oranges to Apples

II Corinthians 3:10-18images-8

 For what was glorious has no glory now in comparison with the surpassing glory.  And if what was fading away came with glory, how much greater is the glory of that which lasts! Therefore, since we have such a hope, we are very bold.
We are not like Moses, who would put a veil over his face to keep the Israelites from gazing at it while the radiance was fading away.  But their minds were made dull, for to this day the same veil remains when the old covenant is read.  It has not been removed, because only in Christ is it taken away.  Even to this day when Moses is read, a veil covers their hearts.  But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.  Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.
And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

Yesterday, when God spoke to me concerning the blind, He wasn’t talking about literally the blind but of those who continue to wear a veil over their hearts.  God is sending me, you and the church, blind people.  Blind people who believe they can earn salvation by following the Ten Commandments as was written in the law of the Old Testament.  Yes, those are principle guidelines in which we all should follow to be an upright moral person but it will not save us.  Only allowing Jesus to be your center focus of your heart will bring salvation.  Yes, it is a process to be more like Him.  Yes, there is freedom in knowing who you serve.  

Have you ever heard the term, don’t compare apples to oranges?  They may remain in the same bowl, categorized as a fruit yet they look and taste different.  Their life span is different, yet they have a season.  They have a way to reproduce from the seeds they contain.  People are the same yet different.  We all are thrown into this bowl of earthly living, we all have a life span and seasons along with reproducing ourselves, spiritually and physically.  However, why does human logic thinking make us want to compare ourselves with one another?  We compare our bodies, our looks, our tangible assets, our teaching, preaching methods, our churches, cars, houses and the list goes on.  Compare is to measure up or examine the similarities of one thing against another.  

Last year, I made up my mind that I was going to stop trying to compare myself with other people.  I think we automatically compare our self with others without even realize what we are doing.  In marriage, we are always trying to change our spouse into what we think we would like without enjoying their true personalities.  We have a way of directing their path through comparison to others.  I, being a Christian for over twenty years lived a life of others directing me to carry a certain look, image in which directed my path.  I really don’t know what triggered me to come to that conclusion and it’s not that I don’t care what others think of me because I do.  Although my methods are different with the same goal in mind, I am not a Paula White or a Joyce Myers, yet we are in the same fruit bowl.  I believe in the Scripture, where the Spirit of God is, there is liberty and freedom!  I cleaned out my closet, got rid of the starchy 1980 suits of Christianity and pulled out my dark dressy jeans and my flowing hippie shirt to be me.  I was tired of trying to be perfect for everyone else.  I wanted to be me and finally decided to do it at age 40.  I am an artist at heart and I have held in the creativity in which God has placed in me long enough.  I want out!  No longer to be held with the veil over my eyes or over my heart.  

Yes, we are all in the same bowl and yes we all have seasons.  Will you join me in the quest?  Remove your veil and let God shine in the truth as we walk in freedom together.  No more comparison with man, but let us move forward to compare ourselves with the Most High.  I want to be like Jesus!   

1 thought on “Compare Oranges to Apples”

  1. this chapter has been so pressed on my heart this past weekend….the revelation struck me like it never has before that i am His glory…being transformed into His very image, and that we get to see His glory in a much fuller way than moses ever did…it’s so intense! thanks for sharing this. its so encouraging…

Leave a Reply

