Abundant life, Leadership

Don’t Sit In The Dark

9574684a47c5dc8cWe all sin and have sinned.  Sin is in our human nature, it is the lowest natural instinct we do.  We take what is ours, the thoughts and cravings of the flesh tend to rule all of us without using wisdom for control at times in our lives.  Whether it is an act or words spoken, whether we feel guilty or not, sin is a sin.  We tend to categorize little sins verses big sins.  Sin is anything we produce whether in mind or act that goes against God’s truth in His word.  Now many people view sin according to the truth they have been taught, not necessarily what they feel or learned or even been shown.  Some people go throughout their lives believing a lie from the enemy, thinking that particular act is not a sin.  It is in our nature to reject the Word of God as old rules or judgements rather than love from the Creator who wants us to live in joy.  It is in our nature to run and hide or to justify our carnal acts of sin.  We tend to put off the small and ask for forgiveness for the large.  Some sins, from thoughts to lying we don’t think there is punishment involved.  However if it is adultry or murder there is greater consequences of punishment.  The Word says we reap what we sow.  Do to others what you want done to you.  Whatever sin you commit, large or small usually comes back to haunt you in some way or another. Prayers go unanswered when we don’t repent.  We cannot live to the fullest in abundant life if we continue to sin without repenting. We cannot walk into kingdom alignment with sin in our lives.  Jesus tells us to live a life of continuing repentance, on going and daily. 

A sinner’s prayer to be cleansed has a two fold meaning.  Asking forgiveness is one thing, but repenting is another.  Forgiveness is asking for God to forgive you for your sins.  God is a just God and yes, He will forgive, however asking forgiveness is not repenting.  Repenting is asking forgiveness yet it is also combines the actions of turning from that sin with the intent of never repeating it.  Repentance is a necessary requirement for salvation.  God tells us, unless we repent we will perish.  Jesus told us to repent and be baptized.  There are over thirty Scriptures that deal with repentance.

This is where I see so many people fall back into the old pattern life style.  You can ask Jesus to come into your heart but without asking forgiveness or repenting it is just words like water on a duck’s back.  They are words without meaning.  It is important that people understand the difference of repentance and asking forgiviness as well as accepting Christ.  Accepting Christ into your heart, believing in Him enough to follow His words, then acting on His Words with obedience will bring truth to understanding the concept.  There is no salvation without true repentance.  There is no salvation in the ongoing sinful lifestyle no matter how justified or unlearned we may be.  We all will be judged by the Word, whether we take time to know it or not, there is no excuses.  However thank God for his mercy!

Below is a prayer by King David after he committed the sin of adultery and murder.  God forgave David because he was sorrowful for not only what he did but also promised to do right after the forgiveness.  He didn’t ask God to forgive him just to not feel guilty anymore, or to get him out of the mess he had created.  Nor did he want just to be blessed, but his heart motivated to live righteous after repenting.  

Psalms 51  O loving and kind God, have mercy.  Have pity upon me and take away awful stain of my sins.  Oh wash me, cleanse me from this guilt.  Let me be pure again.  For I admit my shameful deed, it haunts me day and night.  It is against you and you alone I sinned and did this terrible thing.  You saw it all, and your sentence against me is just.  But I was born a sinner, yes, from the moment my mother conceived me.  You deserve honesty from my heart, yes utter sincerity and truthfulness. Give me wisdom.  Sprinkle me with the cleansing blood and I shall be clean again.  Wash me and I will be whiter than snow.  After you have punished me, give me back my joy again.  Don’t keep looking at my sins, erase them from your sight.  Create in me a new clean heart, O God, filled with clean thought and right desires.  Don’t toss me aside, banish forever from your presence.  Don’t take your Holy Spirit from me.  Restore to me again the joy of your salvation and make me willing to obey you.  Then I will teach your ways to other sinners and they, guilty like me will repent and return to you.  Don’t kill me, oh my God, you alone can rescue me.  The I will sing of your forgiveness, for my lips unsealed, oh how I will praise you.  It is a broken spirit and a contrite heart, O God, you will not ignore.  When my heart is right, and then you will rejoice in the good that I do and in the sacrifices that I bring.

Take time to read the Scripture above and apply it to your heart daily.  You don’t have to sit in the dark.

Leave a Reply

