Encouragement, Love and Life of a Testimony, prayer

Asking is the Beginning

images-1If you don’t ask, you won’t get.  How many times have you been thirsty at someones house and you don’t feel freedom to ask for a drink.  What about if you are traveling and you become lost, why is it that stopping and asking directions are usually the last resort?  We all have been there but why?  Why is it that makes us feel so intimidated or shy, backward or self-absorbed with pride we refuse to act?  Why don’t we put forth the question to get the issue solved at the time it is needed?  Yes, this is many questions but I hope it has made you think.  Think about the reason it takes you to ask to begin with.

Let’s us take prayer for example.  Our heavenly Father wants to give us things beyond our imagination.  He wants to bless us, take care of us and give us our heart’s desire.  Why is it we feel the exact same way with asking in prayer?  You will never receive anything unless you ask first.  Asking is the beginning of receiving.  If your child, spouse or friend ask you for a cup of sugar, would you give them a cup of flour?  Of course you wouldn’t.  So many people get confused about prayer.  It is perfectly alright to ask for things in prayer.  God will never go against your will or against you preventing yourself from receiving.  Babies cry to let us know they want something, it is a form of asking.  In marriage relationship many times couples won’t express to each other what they want yet they expect for the other spouse to give it to them.  Frustration is a result from not getting what you expect to get.  

I have heard many  people say, “God knows what I need, He will give it to me”.  Yes, God does know but He wants you to ask.   Asking is the beginning to receiving.  God will supply all your NEEDS, and yes He will give you your wants.  The wants may not come right away but in time.  Take time right now to make a list for the new year of the things you need and want.  Ask God for these things and watch how quickly He will move.  Be balanced and realistic, giving and not selfish.  

Matthew 7:7-8  Ask, and it shall be given to you…for everyone who ask will receives.

Matthew 21:22  And all things, whatever you ask in prayer, believe and you will receive.

John 14:14  Ask anything in my name and I will do it.

John 15:7  IF you abide in me and my words live in you, ask what you will and it will be done.

This simple prayer will transform your life in all areas.  

“Lord I ask for wisdom, for strength, for compassion, for agape love.  Let your Spirit fill me up to overflowing.  Let spiritual gifts be manifested in me for Your glory.   I pray the fruit of the Spirit overtake my attitudes and my actions in my life to the fullest as I grow closer in relationship to you.  God bless me and my family, friends with mental health, physical health, spiritual health and financial wealth.  Open up doors of opportunity for me to expand myself to the fullest in holiness, righteousness and love.  Let peace reign in my life and follow in my footsteps.  Use my hands, my words and my resources to touch others.  Give me the freedom to worship you as you want me to and not fall under the pressures of man’s tradition.  I want to remember your Word, know your Word, use your Word, let it be forever etched in my mind and upon my heart.  Lord, let me not fall to the wayside or turn back to old carnal ways, but give me understanding to move forward with positive thoughts.  Forgive me Lord of my sins, wash me daily, clean my mind, thoughts and desires of the flesh.  Let me stay focused on my goal, to live and serve you for eternity.  In Jesus Name, AMEN!”

The Lord is faithful to His Word.  He will give if you ask!  Asking is only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

