Encouragement, Leadership

I Know Who I Am

Knowing who you are and believing your identity determines how you think and act.images5  Some people go years trying to figure out who they are and what their purpose is.  It is important to know who you are.

Searching through Scripture we can learn that the word “Believe” is acknowledgement of knowing who Jesus is.  Once one acknowledges the fact, then it leads the individual to the salvation plan.  Acknowledgment in Jesus alone is not enough to save us, it is however the first thing we must do, for if we truly acknowledge Him or believe in Jesus then we follow through with other Scriptures to be saved.  Believing is coming to the understanding with head knowledge, but what we do after knowing the fact of who Jesus is and knowing Him determines IF we are to be saved.  

The Bible tells us to believe in the Lord Jesus and we shall be saved.  It also says faith without works is dead.  We must have faith to please God so works is very important to God also.  Don’t get confused by this because we are not saved by works but by grace through faith.  Believing has much more than stating the fact.  Believing in something makes you want to pursue, to seek and to find the true meaning.  It becomes a part of you.  You hear of people saying “Just ask Jesus into your heart”.  What exactly does this mean?  First of all, the Bible never says ask Jesus in your heart, however it does say if you “believe in your heart Jesus Christ is the Son of God“, and then it was followed by baptism. Acts 8:37  Works always follows what you believe.  If you were in a burning house, you wouldn’t just sit there and acknowledge the house was on fire, (head knowledge) but you would be motivated to produce action.  You would run, scream, call the fire department and also find water to put the fire out.  If you really believed the house was on fire you would act with works.  Works however is not a relationship.  Works brings value to the relationship but it is not important as the intimacy shared.

We don’t serve God just for works or just to be saved but we serve God for who He is and what He has done for us.  We are not our own because Jesus bought us with a price of His own blood.  To think we are saved because of head knowledge fact or because of works or our voids the blood out.  When a person gets sold out for God, they become one with Him.  The relationship comes into effect, not just head knowledge.  It is a heart issue.  I love my children very much and I would never want to hurt them.  God is the same way.  I don’t ignore my children, I don’t stop feeding them or giving to them nor if I am mad at the behavior they may have shown, I don’t stay mad at them for long periods of time.  God is the same way.  My children don’t just say they love me but they show it with action.  Our children are a part of us.  They are flesh and blood and they are to carry on the legacy of us and what we stand for.  They are our fruit.  God looks at you the same way.  We are His children.  We are a representative of Him, we are to carry on His legacy.  Our works add value to the relationship but it is the intimacy shared that God and I grow closer.  Your identity is not who you are in the Body of Christ, what you portray on the outside but who you are on the inside in Christ.

Once a person believes, puts forth the action, it adds value to the relationship but doesn’t always lead you to intimacy.  Intimacy takes place in the heart.  It is a place where you and God share everything as one.  You talk to Him, rely on Him, trust in Him, cast your cares on Him and rest in Him.  I know who I am.  I am a child of God.  I am filled with His Spirit.  I am a product of my God.  I love Him.  I talk to Him and worship Him.  A love beyond compare.  I know who I am.  I am one with the King Almighty, and I can do all things through Him.  There is no height, no depth, no things above or below, no angel, no death, no life, no powers, no principalities, no things to come shall separate me from HIS LOVE.  Romans 8:38-39  Know who you are in God determines not only your actions or attitudes but ultimately your destiny.

Leave a Reply

