Encouragement, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

You Need a Place to Call Home

images4

Home, a place we dwell to live, breath, eat and sleep.  It should be comforting and peaceful, a retreat from this world.  A place to relax, clean and refreshing.  When Jeff and I travel, I love to stay in four star hotels.  I guess I am a little spoiled to the nicer things.  I like hotels that are clean, smell nice and a king size bed that you melt it.  It makes a difference.  Now some of you reading this could be thinking, I can’t stay in a nicer hotel because of the price per night.  The secret is you must search for the right price on the internet.  Jeff has a way of finding and bidding on rooms and reserving for only a fraction of the cost.  It is nice to get away from all the stresses of life, not go to a place where more stress is created.  However upon returning from a few days trip, I am always ready to walk through the door to my home.  I am ready for my pillow, my mattress, my covers, my home.  There is nothing like home.  Even when I visit my home I grew up in, the first thing I want to do when I visit my parents is I want to eat.  I think it is because my mother created our family time around meals.  I felt secure and safe during my younger years.  So eating when I visit my mothers makes me happy.  My husband would also visit his parents sometimes just to sit on their couch.  It was home.  We all need a place to call home.

Now let us talk about our church home.  The church is God’s life support system for each one of us.  Nobody expects a baby to grow on his own, likewise it is not expected by God to grow and develop spiritually in isolation.  Spiritual growth is a group project.  It was never meant to accomplish by yourself.  You need to surround yourself with spiritual fathers, mothers, brothers and sisters, a family of God.  When Adam was alone, God said that it was not good.  We all need each other to make up the body of Christ.  Finding the right church to call home is sometimes like searching for the right hotel.  You don’t select a church just because of convenience, thats like choosing motel 8 when you could have Disney for the same price.  You look for the home feel.  When you approach, does the people show friendliness, willing to help or show family love?  Is it clean, comfortable and express a feeling of peace and security.  Are you fed steak and potatoes or just milk and applesauce?  It should be a place to grow and be balanced in all areas.

Do not forsake yourself of assembling yourselves together… Hebrews 10:25

Maybe there are people who think they don’t need a church or going to church is not a priority in their life.  If one thinks like this, then they are going against Scripture.  I have seen people say, I don’t need help or encouraging so I don’t need to go to church.  However, as with all time and seasons in life, there will be a time when you need all the family you can get.  We are all to be part of something bigger than any one of us.  Never does it say in Scripture of an individual’s growth is apart from the church.  We only connect, relate, contribute and receive from one another.  Your church home is a place of healing, restoration and growth.  

I am thankful for my church home, PromiseLand.  Each time I go, I feel the love, the encouragement, the warmth of security.  I am embraced by God’s presence as He feeds my soul.  It is there that I have been restored, healed and mended.  It is there that I took my first baby steps.  It is there that I cuddle with Jesus in hope, peace and rest.  I couldn’t imagine what kind of shape I would be in spiritually, emotionally or mentally without attending the church every time the doors were open.  The body of Christ lifts me, encourages me, and loves me for who I am.  We stand together to fight the enemy in faith.  It is the retreat in which we never want to leave God in worship.   We all should now have two homes, our dwelling place and our worship place.  Let us hold fast together, looking forward to the last place.  A place we will call home, a place like no other.  We all need a place to call home in eternity.

Leave a Reply

